Dire Straits – Brothers In Arms – Mobile Fidelity




Anticipated Delivery TBC

Mobile Fidelity

 Blockbuster Brothers In Arms Helped Define 80s, Catapulted Dire Straits to Arena Status

The End-All-Be-All Ultimate-Sounding Version of This Audiophile Standard: Mobile Fidelity 180g 45RPM 2LP

Captures Delicate Nuances, Revealing Textures, Finite Information

1985’s Brothers In Arms Has Sold More Than Nine Million Copies in U.S. Alone, Ranks #351 on Rolling Stone’s 500

Greatest Albums of All Time List

Digital clone of Sony 1630 U-Matic digital master


One of the world’s best-selling records and an era-defining Grammy-winning set that catapulted an acclaimed band to arena status, Dire Straits’ Brothers In Arms is the kind of epic spectacular that comes around only once or twice a decade. Surpassed only in fame and visibility during the period by Michael Jackson’s Thriller, the 1985 album remains idiosyncratic for its covetable combination of adventurous song writing, precision-based performances, and reference-calibre fidelity. Anchored by “Money for Nothing,”

immediately identifiable via Mark Knopfler’s resonant finger-picked guitar riff and Sting’s “I want my MTV” vocal refrain, Dire Straits’ fifth album is stuffed with bluesy signatures, jazz-rock motifs, clever lyrics, and organic accents. Perfection abounds, not only in the manner in which the band nails its pop hooks and up-tempo boogies with debonair flair, but also in the control room.

Mastered from the original master tapes, pressed at RTI, and possessing a richness befitting the album’s stellar reputation, Mobile Fidelity’s numbered limited-edition 180g 45RPM 2LP reissue of Brothers In Arms breathes with transparent highs, atmospheric heft, and lifelike tonalities. The sense of realism this edition delivers will leave slack-jawed even the most demanding listeners. Never has it sounded so reach-out-and-touch-it realistic as it does on this high quality pressing. All of the hallmark characteristics—ample spaciousness, ideal balances, widescreen dynamics, immersive depth, lush production—are here in spades. This is the hand-down ultimate-sounding version of this audiophile favourite ever made.


Track List


  1. So Far Away
  2. Money for Nothing
  3. Walk of Life
  4. Your Latest Trick
  5. Why Worry
  6. Ride Across the River
  7. The Man’s Too Strong
  8. One World
  9. Brothers in Arms