Various – The Trojan Story


3 x Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Reissue, 50th Anniversary

Out of stock


Various – The Trojan Story

One of the most significant collections in Trojan’s immense catalogue, the ‘The Trojan Story’ album dramatically changed the perception of Jamaican music among the general British public outside of the country’s Afro-Caribbean population.

Prior to its release in 1971 there had never been an attempt to present a comprehensive anthology of the island’s musical development, with vintage ska, rock steady and reggae widely regarded as obsolete and of precious little merit.

The treble disc set, which became an instant best-seller, had been the brainchild of Trojan’s label manager and Black Music fan, Rob Bell, who, assisted by Trojan stalwarts, Dandy, Webster Shrowder and Joe Sinclair, produced arguably the most significant Jamaican music retrospectives of all time.

Now, 50 years following its original release, this hugely influential album has been revisited by Bell, along with reggae musician, Rusty Zinn, who have succeeded in improving what was already an almost perfect collection.

Presented in the original eye-catching artwork, the set is further enhanced by a highly illustrated 50-page booklet in which Bell relates the stories behind the release and the 50 tracks featured on the compilation.

It features cuts from The Maytals, Jimmy Cliff, Alton Ellis, Duke Reid, Desmond Dekker, The Ethiopians, Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry and many more.

3 x Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Reissue, 50th Anniversary


Various - The Trojan Story album cover


A1 Lord Tanamo Invitation To Jamaica
A2 Derrick Morgan Fat Man
A3 Jackie Edwards Tell Me Darling
A4 Owen Gray Running Around
A5 Jimmy Cliff Miss Jamaica
A6 Derrick And Patsy Housewife’s Choice
A7 The Continentals (3) Give Me All Your Love
A8 Owen Gray Darling Patricia
B1 Stranger Cole Rough And Tough
B2 Kentrick Patrick Man To Man
B3 Stranger & Ken Uno – Dos – Tres
B4 Al T. Joe Slow Boat
B5 Duke Reid’s Group* Rude Boy
B6 Higgs & Wilson Gone Is Yesterday
B7 Lord Tanamo I’m In The Mood For Ska
B8 The Baba Brooks Band Virginia Ska
B9 Justin Hinds & The Dominoes Satan
C1 Baba Brooks & His Band* One Eyed Giant
C2 Joe White and Chuck Every Night
C3 Baba Brooks & His Band* King Size
C4 The Astronauts Syncopate
C5 Winston & George Keep The Pressure On
C6 The Techniques Oh Babe
C7 The Ethiopians Train To Skaville
C8 Dandy Livingstone Rudy, A Message To You
D1 Honey Boy Martin & The Voices (6) Dreader Than Dread
D2 The Three Tops It’s Raining
D3 The Ethiopians The Whip
D4 Desmond Dekker & The Aces Pretty Africa
D5 Alton Ellis & The Flames Rock Steady
D6 Ewan & Jerry Rock Steady Train
D7 Sugar Simone King Without A Throne
D8 Phyllis Dillon Perfidia
E1 Roy Shirley Musical Train
E2 Derrick Morgan Do The Beng Beng
E3 Lynn Taitt & The Jets Way Of Life
E4 Tommy McCook & The Supersonics Second Fiddle
E5 Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry* People Funny Boy
E6 The Tennors I’ve Got To Get You Out Of My Mind
E7 The Maytals Do The Reggay
E8 The Slickers Nana
F1 Delano Stewart* Tell Me Baby
F2 The Reggae Boys Mama Look Deh
F3 The Ethiopians Hong Kong Flu
F4 The Maytals Pressure Drop
F5 The Soul Mates* Them A Laugh And A Ki Ki
F6 The Melodians Walking In The Rain
F7 Carl Dawkins Satisfaction
F8 The Maytones Black And White
F9 The Charmers Rasta Never Fails